Who will Become The New Chief Minister Of Goa?

By | March 18, 2019

Who will Become The New Chief Minister Of Goa?

Who will Become The New Chief Minister Of Goa?

Who will Become The New Chief Minister Of Goa?

The Chief Minister of Goa is chief executive of the Western Indian coastal state of Goa. As per the Constitution of India, the governor is a state’s de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the Goa Legislative Assembly,

the state’s governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given that he has the confidence of the assembly,

the chief minister’s term is for five years and is subject to no term limits

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies are yet to reach a consensus on the name of the new Goa chief minister as Manohar Parrikar embarks on his final journey on Monday, 18 March.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari who held talks with BJP leaders and Mahatashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) leaders to select new Goa chief minister has said that the BJP has zeroed in on the next CM but the issue is with the allies. The state has plunged into a political crisis following Parrikar’s demise on Sunday.

According to media reports, Goa Speaker Pramod Sawant and Goa BJP President Vinay Tendulkar are the front-runners for the post.

Meanwhile, Goa Congress leaders Girish Chodankar and Chandrakant Kavlekar have written to Governor Mridula Sinha, staking claim to form government.

After the 1961 Indian annexation of Goa, the former Portuguese colony became part of the Goa, Daman and Diu union territory. In 1987 Goa achieved full statehood, while Daman and Diu became a separate union territory. Since 1963, eleven people served as Chief Minister of Goa, Daman and Diu union territory and of Goa state. The first was Dayanand Bandodkar of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, who was succeeded by his daughter Shashikala Kakodkar,

Goa’s only woman chief minister. Pratapsingh Rane of the Indian National Congress,

during whose reign Goa had achieved statehood,

is the longest-serving officeholder,

with over 15 years across four discontinuous stints.

The late chief minister Manohar Parrikar resided in his official bungalow which is also known as ‘Mahalaxmi’ located in Altinho, Panaji.

The post is now vacant, following the Bharatiya Janata Party leader, Manohar Parrikar passing away on 17 March 2019.

Click Here To View